The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Never Move A Sleeping Toddler

on 11/02/2013

sleep

Yes I am one of those annoying parents that have been totally totally lucky. Joshua has been an amazing sleeper from a mere 5 weeks old.

Every evening my little man brushes his teeth and treks up the stairs to go and give loves to Ted (his teddy) Largely he is in bed fast sleep by 7.30 pm for a good 11-12 hours.

Ok so this last couple of weeks Joshua, Beth and I have been totally bunged up with snot, this as we all know can make it quite difficult to breath. Having said that I have added a pillow into his cot to raise him slightly which has helped.

In my wisdom at 12.30 am on Saturday morning when on route to bed I decided that I ought to remove the pillow as its no longer needed.

Joshua was not actually using the pillow however when I very quietly took it out he shot up in his cot and began to cry. *go Jaime you numpty*

After settling him back down the only thing way he would stop crying is if I laid on the floor and held his hand through the cot bars.

Nearly an hour passes and I am seriously in pain with my PSD and my eyes are hurting as I am so tired … Joshua on the other hand is wide awake and muttering.

After taking all the pain I could, I shipped in Ollie for his stint on the floor holding hands … several hours pass and the boys remain locked in a marathon hand holding session when Joshua finally drops off.

All those Mummies and Daddies out there that have a tot that wakes frequently in the night you are all my heros! you are far better people than me as a couple of days on and I am still grumpy with lack of sleep!

6 responses to “Never Move A Sleeping Toddler

  1. LOL, it’s that unwritten rule! Matthew fell asleep on the way home from the childminders the other evening. It was 6:30pm, so I wasn’t too bothered, but was very proud that I managed to get him out of the buggy, and into bed, coat and shoes off, without waking him. He’s had a clean nappy before he left, so I figured he would stay asleep. C was all “he needs pj’s” but oddly enough, when I pointed out he could try and change him into pj’s but “he who wakes the sleeping toddler, gets to stay up with said toddler, until he decides to go back to bed” he soon piped down! 😉

  2. Nichola says:

    We were very lucky with our girls too, they both slept from about 6 weeks. If I get an unexpected disrupted night I’m like the walking dead the next day! I have had to do the hand holding through the bars a few times with our youngest, only to step on the creaky floorboard on the way out the door and waken her again! I can’t imagine having to do that every night

  3. Suzanne says:

    Isn’t it funny how we get so used to sleep! My kiddos have all been fab sleepers but every now and again, if they are ill, I suffer even after 1 night of waking up! Seriously take my hate off to parents who deal with it every night. Lovely pics 🙂

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

