The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

The Blogging Community

on 05/02/2013

The Blogging Community

When I set out on my blogging journey last year I was totally unprepared….unprepared for how much bloggers support each other.

‘In Real Life’ there are so many pressures maintaining friendship, trying to ensure you make those important meet ups for coffee or lunch. To fit the odd night out round the financial constraints of bringing up a family along with the time to actually go and enjoy yourself in the first place instead of stressing about what time the first morning wake-up call will hit.

Blogging is such a strange creature, we all know so much about each other through the interaction we make via our media platforms and by the blog posts we read.  However we have in most circumstances never even laid eyes on each other without the use of a screen.

As a new starter last year I was overwhelmed by the support from even the most established of blogger, by the time they were prepared to give, their helpful words of wisdom and by their continual support they still offer. These people probably know me better than I know myself.

I have also been lucky to be part of a group of newbies that started around the same time who I have clicked with on such a level that these people I don’t know what I would do without them.

The blogging community understands that social media is a large part of my life and don’t make me feel I have neglected them when I have been away from my screen to actually live my life.

After some recent very sad news in the blogging community that has rocked me to the very core. I now understand what this crazy community have to offer, a level of support that I have never ever come across. Even bloggers who you have never had direct contact are there sending support and doing what they can. If one blogger hurts the rest hurt too.

I think unless you have been part of this craziness it’s difficult to comprehend how strong the friendships actually are.

I am so pleased I made this choice in my life and that I have such an incredible group of friends. I look forward to the friends I have yet to meet and the craziness in which is yet to happen.

Thank you bloggers!

16 responses to “The Blogging Community

  1. Amummymuses says:

    The blogging community is truly special and I’m glad to be a part of it.

    Great post.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks, before being part of it i would of thought it strange however i love it and i love the people i meet and connect with too, thanks for popping by 🙂

  2. Never a truer word said lovely lady 🙂 xx

  3. Emma Day says:

    So very well said. Bloggers were most certainly there for me, holding my hand as I went through surgery last week. I have also been on the other end of it and felt the pain of other bloggers struggling through difficult times and tried my best to support them! Before I started blogging, I didn’t know what I was missing! xx

  4. I completely agree. It’s helped to curb my homesickness and loneliness. There’s always someone to chat to or run ideas past. It’s great.

  5. Claire says:

    Yes its local for us so ideal 🙂

  6. Claire says:

    I agree blogging community is like a family. I am going to my first meet up in march so looking forward to meeting up with some of the community 🙂

  7. I feel very much the same way. My life has been altered by the space on the world wide web that is occupied by blogging and other bloggers. Well said. x

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

