The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

No Apple for My Teacher

on 16/01/2013

Image

As some of you will know from one of my previous post (you can read HERE)  I was returning to college this January.

My first lesson was last Tuesday and I really enjoyed it, I even relished the first assignment which was handed out (sad I know)

The course itself (ILM – Leadership & Management) is made up of 3 individual mini courses consisting of  3 hours per week for ten weeks for each unit which could be run one after another to get the main qualification (minimum of 2 units needed) or you can take on of the individual units to get a smaller qualification.

On arriving last week we were told that due to there only being 5 of us the original 30 hours (3hrs x10 weeks) was going to be cut down to 2 hours per week effectively slashing the course  the first section of the course time by a third!

Needless to say I was not impressed since this first 10 weeks had cost me £435 and there was going to be no price reduction!

Still smarting from the bomb shell of the cost and the time reduction I was going to go last night and get my head into gear and smash this course and flounce off with my qualification in triumph ….. that never happened.

My tutor (who is a lovely lady) called me 2 hours before I set off to say the college had cancelled the course as there were not enough people to fund it … I am gutted!

Even though I seem to be so super busy at the moment I was really really looking forward to the first assignment! (I really am that sad!)

So last night I started to look at where  I actually wanted to go career wise and I have decided I want world domination to do a degree I am not sure exactly which one but one based in the Human Resources/Management area would be good.

I also have to look at the financial aspect and options of do I defer payment of the course by taking a student loan or apply for scholarships … I really am floundering around like a rather large version of Nemo and I need to focus and make a million phone call.

If anyone has any experience of any Open University courses please let me know how you got on and is it achievable?

Or am I really the maddest of us all in this Madhouse?

16 responses to “No Apple for My Teacher

  1. I started my degree at Uni of Sheffield but finished it with the OU. That was a good number of years ago but I can say that back then it was superb. Hard going if you’re balancing it with other big life commitments but totally worth it. x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Emily, I just think if I am going to I ought to do it now, I am home all day and my little boy has fab grandparents that would help me with him while I allocate some time to study. This sounds more and more like a positive with every comment that comes in x

  2. Good for you getting back into learning. I am addicted to doing courses and getting qualifications but have never done an OU one. I have heard really good things about it though. I think it was perhaps a blessing in disguise your course being cancelled (though very annoying) as you have this chance to reassess what you want to do. Enjoy! xx

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I am thinking it was perhaps a blessing too!! sorry for my late reply your comment was scooped into my spam folder! needless to say i have scooped it back out!

  3. I did a creative writing diploma with the OU and it was fab, so well organised, everything spelled out from start to finish at the start of the course. Bite size activities, all your assignments mapped out in a planner for the year. So much better than my first degree. I had a really supportive group of fellow students too.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I really thought i was mad to even consider it but the more i think about it and the more i hear from others maybe i am not so mad anymore! roll on march for the open day 🙂 (& thanks for popping across and commenting x)

  4. Mummy Plum says:

    So sorry to hear about your course. It’s awful when you’ve emotionally invested in doing something like that and it then doesn’t happen. I have no experience of OU but just wanted to share my own experience of funding a career change course. 3 years ago I decided to do a degree in at a private college. The degree was accredited by a well known university. 4 weeks into the course, the college went into liquidation, the university disowned any responsibility for seeing people complete the course, and I lost the £000’s I’d paid in fees. If you do pay for a degree course I’d really suggest investigating the financial viability of the institution you go with before you pay for the course. Sorry for the long comment but I just don’t want anyone to go through what I did. x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Its very much appreciated that you have commented, its a very scary thing! i am due to go to an OU open day the beginning of March and hopefully this will make things a little clearer, re funding i cant believe its such a minefield!

  5. Charlotte says:

    I haven’t used Open University but my friend has just graduated from there and she got on really well with it. You need to be self motivated but sounds like you have that covered! :0) x

  6. Cripes! You’ve had a time of it ain’t ya?! That’s ridiculous. I am sorry to say I really know nothing about the UO, but I really truly hope you get back on the path you want 🙂 xx

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Aww thank you honey, how they expect you to decide what you want to do when you are in your teens is a little mad I am 33 going on 34 and only just have an inkling

  7. Ridiculous about the refund on the course – I hope they will credit you in full now.
    No idea on OU either, but I know whatever you do next will be right for you 🙂 x

  8. Sorry to hear about the course but glad that it hasn’t put you off. When I was studying as a mature student I too found myself being a bit of a swat compered to my earlier years in education. I think you value it more with maturity. Sorry no advice on OU but look forward to seeing where you go next. x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      thanks 🙂

      I still think i am slightly mad but hey ho is not call the Oliver’s madhouse for nothing!

      I am going to an OU open morning locally in March 🙂

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

Motherhood. Without the Sugar Coating.

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

