The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Ranty Friday – Nasty Neighbours

on 11/01/2013

It’s that time of the week again where I am linking up with the lovely Mummy Barrow for the Ranty Friday post, this week it’s nasty neighbours!

Image

First off I would like to say that I DO NOT have anything personally against my neighbours (joined on) I also think they seem to be lovely people from what I know of them!

I also have no problems with dogs!

Having said that however  …… next doors dogs consistent barking  … IS DRIVING ME INSANE!!

Almost 2 years ago we got new neighbours when the previous neighbours sold and moved. From the beginning our new neighbours were lovely, chatting on the front and passing smiles and hellos while out there. I am personally not a neighbouring type person (you know the ones, in and out of each other’s houses like they lived there) so to pass pleasantries on the garden was nice with no pressure.

After the first few weeks it became obvious we were going to have an issue. Both parties next door worked full time and they had 3 large dogs, which for whatever reason once left alone for duration of time kick off and spend the remainder of their time alone barking.

Now over the time since they have moved in I have spoken twice to her and once to her eldest son about the noise and I have been told they don’t think this is a problem as they have spoken to the couple on the opposite side to them and they have said they can’t really hear anything. I am guessing not since there are 2 lots of walls, a fence and 2 paths between, however there is only one party wall between us.

Things got worse still when my neighbours (joined on) decided to start leaving their dogs on a Saturday morning and then not return home until Sunday afternoons, the barking was incessant. I am not sure if someone was supposed to be going around to see to them however we never saw anyone and from what we could see they were left  on their own for the duration.

Those weekends were absolutely horrific, they never stopped. Joshua who has always slept through was being woken as was Beth who was on the other side of the house! We were stuck, no one in to complain to so we were having to listen to them for hours and hours!

At this point we couldn’t cope anymore, we had told them how we were being affected and 3-4 hours at a time during the day is bad enough but through the whole weekend too was intolerable.

We contacted the local council, who were very sympathetic and told us they would monitor the noise however once the neighbours realised we had made it official all the other neighbours were saying that there wasn’t ever a problem and I was the problem.

Since moving in originally over 3 years ago things changed with the other 2 neighbours on the street as they were all over me when I moved in and then when I was not forthcoming with the coffee and unlocked door they have taken it upon themselves to intimidate and bully me even  telling the neighbours next door I am evil and I am out of order (as you can imagine it’s a joy to live on this street at the moment!)

We still even now have dogs bark 4 out of 7 days for hours at a time and they are still driving us to despair the only improvement is they have now stopped leaving them for the weekend, however they still bark everyday they are work.

Since starting the original complaint with the council I am now being bullied by my neighbour on the other side (who was all over my originally when I moved in) who has taken to verbally attacking me, swearing at me in front of my children, visitors and their children.

Some people need to get a grip, I will be sociable but not to the extent you know everything about me we are neighbours not best friends.

I do not deserve to be treated appallingly by vendettas over something that didn’t involve you in the first place.

Strange that the neighbours with the barking dogs are still polite on bumping into us and have been from the beginning, however the rest are vindictive, nasty or verbally aggressive.

I suppose you can choose your house … just not your neighbours!

The picture above was taken from Zoopla’s Blog who has a great blog post about neighbours why not pop over and read some more (HERE)

12 responses to “Ranty Friday – Nasty Neighbours

  1. This sounds like an awful nightmare situation. I really don’t understand people that have dogs and leave them all day including the weekend, it’s completely unfair on the animals. I also loath this narrow minded petty neighbour behaviour, where people have to get involved in other peoples business. All I can say is that you are above all that and better than that, keep your head high and know that you are not the narrow minded fool. I know this does not solve your problem but you have to be aware that you’ve done nothing wrong. I hope there can be some resolution but I must admit I’m unsure how. xx

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      thanks! to be fair i have kind of dug my heels in now and they will move before me!! i love my house and i wouldn’t want another .. however different neighbours is another matter!

      I do have 2 other couples on the street that are amazing and are really really lovely so it kind of makes up for the awful ones!

  2. Ugh, this sounds awful.. The barking would drive me NUTS – and the mean neighbours? Well that’s just childish, shame on them. Try to rise above it.
    If the council aren’t able to help, is there some other organisation? Surely it’s animal cruelty leaving dogs locked up for that long??
    Camilla

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Camilla, according to the council the RSPCA wont intervene unless they are left with no food and water!

      As for the nasty set of neighbours I have been advised that if it continues to phone the local police and report it.

      It all such a nightmare as you dont know what to do for the best it seems everything i have tried just makes things worse!

  3. I’m sorry. Having horrible neighbors is a nightmare. I wish I could suggest something that would help, but unfortunately, most things will antagonize them. We have a family that live around the corner, who are locally notorious and no-one dares call the cops or complain, because they would make life hell in return (and then Brad and Angelina have a house on the other side of the road from us, which makes it seem even stranger, our neighborhood!)

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Check you out!!! (name dropping lol) how bizarre that you have such extremes of neighbours!! i suppose you never know what its going to be like till you live there!

      Any nastyness from the Pitt household? lol

      • It’s weird where we live, because we have some REALLY posh (Brad paid £10m for the house) houses, literally 2 mins from our door, then down the road, we have some rough council spots. We’re in a sort of random no mans land of neighborhoods!
        Brad and Ange are very well behaved. She goes running with a trainer when theyre here, and takes the children out and about, and is quite normal. He, I’ve not seen, but he flies in and out from the Polo club in his helicopter.(I know, sounds very posh, it isn’t really) the Paparazzi used to stalk them and hang around, but they’e got bored now and we don’t see so many of them. They were here for New Year, and there were A LOT of bottles in their recycling bin, (I have to walk past their house to get to the bus stop!) 🙂 So they obviously had a great party! I was most miffed not to be invited! 😉

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        I am with you!! they could of shared the love at new year! tight gits!

        helicopters do sound so posh and exciting!

  4. Lisa @ hollybobbs says:

    Ong how awful! Don’t think I cld live in a place with neighbours like that so good on you for putting up with it. We had horrible neighbours a few years ago who ended up signing for a package for us then denying accepting it -we moved not long after!

  5. Dealing with neighbours has to be one of the hardest things EVER. Barking dogs is a massive nightmare and it is so selfish of them to go out and leave them – they aren’t the ones having to put up with the noise!

    Like you I hate neighbours living in each others houses (it seems a majority of our close do!)

    Coincidentally Ross had a massive issue yesterday with the kids who live in our close and the fact that they were playing football outside which kept hitting our cars. Ross works from home and tolerates all the shouting but had to step in yesterday due to the car situation (which I don’t blame him for and would have done the same!) Ross calmly asked them to stop and the Grandmother next door blanked him and went inside when he tried to speak to her and the mother opposite came over and gave him a piece of her mind and didn’t let him get a word in edgeways! Basically he has been made to look like the ogre.

    I went out there this afternoon to explain that we weren’t trying to stop the kids playing, just stop them getting run over and from damaging our property!

    Needless to say that we are looking to move!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Its so awful isnt it, i like the neighbours which we are semi’d with its just the dogs barking really gets me down. the others are just nasty sods!

      I would be the same as you and Ross its not on when your property is being affected … would they pay if they broke the window? .. doubt it!

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

Motherhood. Without the Sugar Coating.

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

