The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

The Day I Became Jaime Oliver

on 19/12/2012

DSC_0647

I know this happened a few months before my blogging ways kicked in but I wanted to enlighten my lovely followers at just how mad the Oliver’s are!

Throughout my pregnancy with Joshua Ollie proposed several times, mainly with Haribo rings and at the insistence we should be married before our new addition arrived. I have to say I was not elated over the thought of wedding pictures when I was the size of 2 houses!  So we kind of joked about it but left it well alone.

After the birth of Joshua we went away for a few days to Whitby where an idea was formed. We both loved Whitby and thought of getting married there was quite exciting! However neither Ollie nor I actually like being the centre of attention and after much deliberation we decided to do it but with no one knowing!

I know some of you may think we were a little cruel, however the thought of being the centre of attention made us both sick and we had both been married previously and had the big white wedding that neither of us wanted.

So in June/July 2011 we planned our secret wedding! I have to say it was a logistical nightmare as we are approximately 2 hours away and we needed accommodation, photographer, hair and makeup!

I have to say that once we had our fantastic photographer in place (Rob Smith) and my hair and makeup artist (Helen Guy) we were rocking and rolling and they were so helpful!  Without these 2 we would have been lost, not only did they do a fantastic job they were also our witnesses (who we still can’t thank enough)!

Fitting Beth for her outfit I have to say was the scariest moment of all for me, I measured her in March for her custom made dress and made out I was taking measurements for any reasonably priced school uniform I could find (as she started secondary school in September) The dress arrived in May and then I was in total melt down! .. How was I doing to get her to try it on before we travelled to Whitby without letting the cat out of the bag??  It went something like this:

Me “Beth can you remember me telling you about that very posh wedding we are going to in August?”

Beth “No”

Me “you must remember it’s going to be very very posh”

Beth “No”

Me “Well never mind, we are going to this very very posh wedding and instead of a boring dress off the rack I have had a dress made for you. Do you want to try it on?”

Beth “OMG YES!”

Once the dress was on:

Beth “OMG it’s gorgeous”

Me “it is very beautiful”

Beth “it looks like a bridesmaid dress!”

Me “No it doesn’t!”

With that she was excited about the POSH POSH wedding in August!

We Left for Whitby on Saturday 9th June and on arriving we finally told Beth that we were going to get married while we were there! To say she was gobsmacked would be an understatement!

The Sunday and the Monday I was struck down with a tummy bug so didn’t move from the apartment and I did think at one point getting married wouldn’t be an option, however when I woke on the Tuesday I was feeling much better!! (I could have cried with relief)

The whole day was fantastic! I was so calm and Rob and Helen were amazing! After getting married we then went to the beach and had some picture taken. Once finished we went back to the apartment and phoned our parents (who took the news fantastically well!)

wedding1

wedding120612 1

wedding 3

wedding 5

We finished off with Fish and Chips at the Magpie and it couldn’t have been more perfect for us!

The Oliver’s certainly don’t do things conventionally and once again proves the Oliver’s house is certainly a MADHOUSE!

Please feel free to pop over to our lovely Photographer Rob’s Post about our Wedding 🙂 click HERE

All These Photos are copyrighted by Rob Smith

9 responses to “The Day I Became Jaime Oliver

  1. new mummy says:

    thank you for posting this on my all about love blog hop – thankyou for sharing such a private and special occasion with us. beautiful photos x

  2. I love love love this post! It sounds like it was such a perfect day! You all look lovely, the pictures are amazing! Honestly think this beats any over the top wedding :):) xx

  3. thisdayilove says:

    gorgeous photos, love the one with you all running and you cant beat seaside fish and chips.

  4. Nichola says:

    Jaime you are a beautiful family. Your dress was absolutely gorgeous, I love the colour, I’m a big blue fan. Your wedding day sounds wonderful and really special. I couldn’t do the whole massive church traditional thing either, it was just too much for me, we are like yourselves, neither of us like being in the limelight. We got married with just our parents and then ran off to Paris!
    Good seaside Fish and Chips are hard to beat, the smell alone is fabulous x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I didnt want a white dress the first time round and ended up with one so i was determined to no have one this time!! blue was the natural choice since hubby is an Everton supporter (although i wouldn’t of gone that blue!)

      We only ever eat fish and chips if we are at the coast!!

      Paris, wow i would love to go there!

  5. Gorgeous pictures of you all. As I said before we attended a wedding in Whitby and it was brilliant. looks like you had a great day and although you might be a little bit mad I think it’s in a most brilliant way. x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I really hoped that everyone would understand and we needn’t of worried they were all fantastic! nothing like a fish and chip wedding breakfast! lol

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

Motherhood. Without the Sugar Coating.

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

