The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

From Old to New – The Oliver’s Recycle

on 03/12/2012

Now although we do our bit of recycling, you know the paper, plastics, cardboard and glass that’s about the extent of the recycling in this household. (I know we could and should do more but its where to start?)

This last week with funds on the tight side with the run up to Christmas and a car in for service and MOT we have really tried to keep to our budget and that meant no money for any extras. .

Now this is where the problem lay as the Oliver Christmas tree only has one location that it will fit and that is where the play pen has been living for the last 9 months, and with no play pen there was nowhere to store Joshua’s toys as this is where we have been dumping them for the last few months.

So without further stress I decided on a cheaper alternative than buying a new toy box, I would raid the attic!

beforeBeth’s toy box was bought for her when she was 2 and it was a beautiful solid wooden box, age 3 Beth ‘customised’ it with felt tips and I then i subsequently painted it Barbie pink and moved it into her bedroom. As she has got older it was relegated to attic where it has since stored old paint pots and roll ends of wallpaper!

On dragging it down I really had forgotten just how pink it really was, and nearly chickened out over giving it a makeover.

during

It took 3 hours to sand it down and almost 5 days to give it 5 coats of undercoat (god damn that bloody pink!) then a couple of days with 2 layers of gloss and hey presto … an old but new toy box!

I am so pleased it cost us nothing (except my patience falling over the bloody thing in the kitchen) and my mum had some spare undercoat (thanks mum) and my little man loves it!

after

Although I am not the craftiest person and have limited patience maybe I will try this recycling lark more instead of just throwing everything out!

I also love the fact that although there is 10 years between my children they have shared something . . . the toy box!

13 responses to “From Old to New – The Oliver’s Recycle

  1. Victoria says:

    Wow! No wonder you are tired missus! Great job, well done 🙂 x

  2. We have similar wooden toy boxes which have gotten really grubby – I might look into painting ours now I’ve seen this! Great Idea! Although I did love the pink, but not very boylike! 🙂 xx

  3. Fiona says:

    Great job! It’s lovely. So satisfying to create something lovely AND recycle something AND use up some old paint that would probably sit around until it became to gunky to use otherwise! I wish we had an attic to store things until a flash of inspiration or tight spot comes along – the only useful ‘junk’ I manage to stash is fabric scraps.

  4. That looks great! Well done 🙂 I love that they’ve shared somehing too even with the gap! I think it’s cute when things get passed down, Eva has her daddy’s cubs t-shirt from almost 30 years ago!!
    Joshua looks like he’s loving his new toy box bless him!
    Xx

  5. Thisdayilove says:

    Looks a lot better great job!

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

Motherhood. Without the Sugar Coating.

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

