The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Meme – My Top Five Rant Inducers of the Moment

on 30/11/2012

soap box

After an atrociously bad week here at the Oliver’s Mad House including bumping my car, chipped windscreens, temper tantrums (from all 4 of us) to much to do and not enough hours and all the while remaining calm and with a permanently plastered on smile (through gritted teeth) my blogging Chum Suzanne from 3 Children and It sent me a blogging Meme that could not of come at a better time! … My Top Five Rant Inducers of the Moment!

Soap box here I come ….

1. Parent & Child Parking: This is my all-time goat getter!

As some of you may know since early in my pregnancy with Joshua I developed Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction (SPD) it affects everything I do and I take medication daily to control the pain. Some things are made incredibly hard with this condition like picking things up and moving things (yes I am referring to my small child)

Why oh why do the lazy sods with no children think it is there god given privilege to park in these bays? Why is there need greater than mine? They are in fact designated to help parents with small children get easier access to their child due to the restrictive nature of car seats.

My ball breaker of a rant in all honesty has to be the disabled badge holders that even when there are free disabled spaces they park in parent and child bays anyway!  On one such occasion I felt brave and asked this person why they had taken the only parent and child bay when there were 6 disabled bays left that I couldn’t park in, I was told ‘ I have a blue badge I can park anywhere I like’

Hence my number one!

2. Smug Facebook Status’s & Claims from the Parenting Perfect

I am sure we have all seen them, they are the ones that update their status every 36 minutes with the perfect things their hubby, child and extended family are up too and how much they couldn’t live without them … but really who are they trying to kid??

Yes every now and again it’s nice to appreciate ones loved ones but does it have to go on Facebook and does their 1 year old really read them? And surly if they were all so damn perfect you would want to spend your time with them not sit on Facebook 24/7 playing games?? .. Maybe it’s just me? I will happily keep my crazy mixed up bunch over that any day, we have nothing to prove!
3. Cold Callers – Sod off ……. Its that simple, did I call you? No … then sod off

I have discovered recently after having been inundated with several each day through my mobile and home phone the quickest way to get rid is:

“ we are bankrupt and we private rent” saying this usually get them gone without any further utterance!
We now barely get any much to my delight.

4. Dog Poo – I push a pushchair so it has to be on my list!

Ok so I can’t blame the dogs but I can blame the owners, pick it bloody up!! Not only is it revolting and time consuming to clean down from pushchairs and shoes it can pass on infections and diseases to those who have poor immune systems or our little tots. You choose to have a dog so you HAVE to pick up its mess.

Cats are bad enough going anywhere they please but as dogs are not supposed to be just roaming you have no excuse to not pick it up … you are there!

5. Hypochondriacs – Bizarre I know .. 

I just don’t have the time for them, we all are full of ailments and issues but do we really have to make a mountain over a molehill … yes you have a head ache … that does not mean your suffering from a migraine … nor dying … nor does it mean you have to present yourself 3 times a week at the Drs to be told the same thing as every test on god’s green earth has been completed and come back with nothing for the last few years…..

Now I am hoping I will still have some followers and blogging chums left, so I am passing this one over now for some other fine blogging chums to vent.

Charlotte from: The Crumby Mummy                Sarah from: The Puffin Diaries
Leyla from: This Day I Love                                    Ember from: Purple Crazymum
Karen from: Women Wife and Mum

25 responses to “Meme – My Top Five Rant Inducers of the Moment

  1. I agree with all of these! And dog poo is one of my ultimate pet hates! Having a 3 wheel pram there is no way to avoid the things! I can’t believe that someone said that to you re the parking! It must have taken alot not to tell them where to shove their blue badge! Harriet xx

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      i have a 3 wheeler at the min and i have to say i bloody hate dog poo!! guaranteed one out of the 3 wheels is going to get it!

      re the rude blue badge holder … what goes around comes around (please god! lol)

  2. Kris Gregory says:

    Ha, that all hit a chord! I find it even more annoying with the parent/child bays because I stopped using them the moment the kids could disembark themselves. Gave my best “you are scum of the earth” look only this week to a single, able bodied early forties man that jumped spritely out of his gleaming, child-free car parked in a parent bay…wish the supermarkets would start clamping (and heavily fining) them 😦 imagine the applauding crowds, lol!

  3. Happygomummy says:

    I also suffered from SPD in my pregnancy (thankfully it has gone now, it must be dreadful still suffering, I feel for you) but even though I was on crutches for 10 weeks I still didn’t use the parent and baby spaces as technically I hadn’t had my baby! It really annoys me that other use them because they feel like it! Grrrrr! I moan about this regularly! It also annoys me the people who park there when the child isn’t in the car, just because you have a child somewhere doesn’t mean you can use it without said child in tow! Thanks, I feel better for venting!! x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      i whole heartily agree! bring child or dont park there!

      I do have to say the SPD does get me down and i dont sleep well often waking several times a night numb legs and hips. I have to wait till i am 40 before they would consider me for the pinning and plating and even then there is only a 40% success rate! (look at me i ranting again!! )

      Please feel free to pop by and rant anytime! 😉 hey maybe would out to make it a regular blog hop lol x

      • Happygomummy says:

        I’m always up for a rant!! 🙂

        Gosh your SPD sounds dreadful, literally as soon as I had JB it went but I was too poorly to walk properly but I felt it straight away. 40?! That’s no good when you’re in pain now! I’m not surprised it gets you down 😦

        x

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        i am loosing weight as this does make it fractionally ease the pain but it doesn’t get rid. I try not to moan too much as things could be far worse. xx

      • Happygomummy says:

        I’m on the weight loss road too but it’s hard work isn’t it! I have arthritis and it travels, mainly knees so doing exercise can be painful but I’m trying the 30 day shred, it’s so hard!! Plus there is always someone worse but it’s good to let it all out, well that’s my excuse anyway!! 😉 x

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        feel free to grumble to me anytime! i need to get re motivated the last few weeks i have slightly gone off track lol

      • Happygomummy says:

        Ummm, yes gone off track too, in fact stuffing my face with chocolate cake right this second! I am, I promise starting dieting again tomorrow! come on we can do it! 🙂 x

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        i am not gutted since i am about to start the ironing! 😦 and there is no chocolate cake in … bad times

  4. Nice rant. I agree with all of them. Hope you felt better for writing it down, I know I did.

  5. […] Meme – My Top Five Rant Inducers of the Moment […]

  6. Victoria says:

    I am soooooo with you on all of this! I also think parent and baby spaces should include pregnant women. I remember being heavily pregnant and not able to get out of my car in a normal bay! Cold callers should sod off and, well, so should all the others frankly! 🙂 x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      lol, i agree about parent and child spots for pregnant women too, i know one of the big stores allows pregnant women to pack in them.

      I am glad i haven’t also alienated lots of ppl by ranting! lol

  7. I love it and wish I’d thought of half of those myself! Escpecially the one about the child and parent bays – I would never dare park in one without a child….follow the rules people!! I’m not sure it had to be top 5 rants but I limited it to that or would have gone on all day!!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      i am glad you limited to 5 and i followed suit or i would of gone on into the hundreds … not that i like to moan of anything lol

      Thanks for tagging i loved this 🙂 x

  8. Great post dog poo and cold callers bug me heaps! Thank you for tagging me, think I will enjoy putting my post together 😉 xx

  9. Oh I agree with everyone of these. The parent parking is a huge bug bear of mine grrrr.

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

