The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Friends

on 16/11/2012

We all need them and let’s be honest the wrong kind can certainly be far worse than an enemy you thought you had!

Now don’t get me wrong I love some ‘me’ time but since having children I, like most parents find having the time to do ‘Me’ things with my girly friends a little more challenging.

Over the years I have had many fine weather friends (these are the kind that are friend when the goings good, but nowhere to be seen when needed!!)

I have since getting older and wiser cracked down on the afore mentioned time wasters and I have scaled down my friend list! (Or was it them while I wasn’t looking?) I have only a select few that I would spend my precious time with now a days.

The reason I have been thinking about ‘my friends’ recently is I have found myself in a somewhat strange position.  I Jaime Oliver have found myself justifying myself and the needs of my family to a husband of a so called friend?? I have not had to justify myself to anyone since I became an adult and am a little taken aback to be honest.

Now this particular ‘friend’ is lovely don’t get me wrong however selfishly or not I don’t have the time to constantly text/talk/chat/email or spend every waking second with someone.

I look at my role at home as a job and I try to carry the majority of the household duties as my hubby works hard at work, weekends and evening we chip in together. Now is it just me that does this?

Is it wrong to want my friends to be able to fit round my hectic family life and still want to be my friend even if we don’t communicate directly for a week or weeks at a time??

In my opinion is not wrong, my other friends don’t seem to have a problem with me not communicating for weeks or even months at a time. They know I would walk over hot coals to help them in anyway if needed and if they rang me at stupid o’clock to cry down the phone I would offer to come to theirs with tissues, chocolate and wine!

I hope I don’t get to many of the above mentioned calls … wine is expensive after all!


6 responses to “Friends

  1. Tracey says:

    Hi,

    True friends are always there for you and it does not matter how long you leave contact with them. If they are true friend, even if you don’t see them for years you can pick up where you left off with them.

    Great blog.
    Tracey

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Tracey, I just found the whole experience somewhat annoying, having to justify to her hubby why i hadnt seen her for a few days!!

      I do have several friends that we dont talk for ages then pick up where we left off however i began to think maybe i was doing them an injustice! .. some people lol

  2. I can totally relate to this. I have a few very close friends who I would do (almost) anything for & them for me…but I have not seen them in months. I text my best friend last night at midnight 2 arrange drinks in december, not seen her since summer & even still have her b’day prez from september. My other friend I text randomly, I last saw her 2years ago. But they understand…if they didnt, they wouldnt be my friends x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I am so glad its not just me!! i was this week beginning to think i was strange for putting my family first (although ex friends hubby would have you believe!) x

  3. I find friends and family so complicated. I’ve actually never had a friend who would put themselves out for me, even though I’ve always been the type to try to help others. Door mat springs to mind. My close family are great, but extended family not so. My husbands sister would never put herself out for us, yet she’d always expect us to help her. I’m just used to dealing with stuff alone, I have no expectations of anyone else.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      ah my lovely that made me sad. Dont get me wrong we too have family members we dont even speak too never mind would put them first and we have some close family that would help us anytime day or night.

      if you fancy some wine, choc and tissues give me a ring 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

