The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Are We Potty?

on 14/11/2012

Image

Well for the last couple of weeks my little man has become more than interested in the toilet habits of the rest of us. He take great joy from standing in front of me while I am in the little girls room and waiting to hear me ‘tinkling’ then laughing whole heartedly!

At first it was just me he was interested in what I did in there now it is everyone, including any visitors!

He has for about 5 weeks now been giving little indications when he is filling his nappy, (he crouches or does a bunk behind the furniture) but then comes and gets a nappy and the wipes from the draw and brings them to me and lies down.

Feeling rather brave last Friday, after his lunch I dragged the potty out from under the mound of toys it was hiding beneath and we had a try.

Now to be fair I was expecting the worst (screaming child, screaming mummy and pee all over the house) in my OCD ways this would have been a nightmare. Instead what we actually had was calm and smiles!! …. Wow

For 30 minutes my little man sat on his potty while watching children’s TV we laughed about waiting for the tinkle and we had some kisses and after a whole 30 minutes ……. Nothing!

Ok so at this stage I thought this is better than I thought, no pee, no tears let’s call it a day while the going is good.

Big Mistake!

The moment I asked Joshua if he had finished and lets get some pants (nappy) on I moved the potty and turned him round ………. The fountain of pee went everywhere.

So in my OCD mind I’m thinking – OMG PEE EVERYWHERE I NEED TO CLEAN RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!! …

What I actually did was laughed and clapped and wittered on about ‘yay it’s the tinkle!’ so we were surrounded in pee and were both laughing and clapping.

My worst fear at that particular moment was he would think the tinkle is bad .. When in fact the tinkle was good just not where we planned!

We will persevere and try and make potty time fun, I will just have to remember extra kitchen roll and anti bac wipes on the weekly shop!  …the things we do!

8 responses to “Are We Potty?

  1. Cherry Blossom Rain says:

    I am dreading potty training 2nd time round! Moo was easy we struggled with number two’s and its still an ongoing issue.. but we are getting there.. FINALLY!

    Thor on the other hand! gosh… Im not going to even contemplate on potty training him till I know he is ready… I hear so many different stories about how different boys are to girls! I am not looking forward to it!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      i am just trying to make it fun and not traumatic, still no tinkle in the potty tho 😦

      • Cherry Blossom Rain says:

        I was given The Pirate Pete potty book.. I have read it to Moo as a bedtime book as she chose it… strange choice, but she asked! I will definitely be reading it to Thor when he is ready!

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        i will have to have a look at that one! any advice/help is gratefully appreciated as Beth is 11 its been a long time since i did this lol

  2. I tried, I gave up on the potty, she used it as a frisbee, but she knows what its all about so I’m taking it all at her pace. She follows me to the loo (read pelts there so she doesn’t miss it!) and flushes the loo whilst I’m still on it! Oh how we’ll all laugh at this one day 🙂

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      its crazy to think before kids we had dignity and privacy … where has that gone??

      Before last week Joshua used his a hat and for carrying his favorite toys in from one end of the room to the other!

  3. thisdayilove says:

    Best of luck with it. I was so lucky with my daughter she was potty trained within 3 days. I can thoroughly recommend myweefriend.com a great product to help with it all!

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

