The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Culinary Cock Up … who me?

on 06/11/2012

As most of you know already having the same name as Jaime Oliver can get frustrating as let’s face it some people presume I am good in the kitchen. Don’t get me wrong I am good in the kitchen doing something’s like sneaking a crafty fag out the back door, running the tumble drier at every given opportunity…. but cooking is not my forte!

As discussed in an earlier post ‘Batch Cooking … is it the way forward? I have taken on the task of batch cooking, in order to cut down on the amount of time I HAVE to spend in the kitchen cooking and to be a little more organised at ensuring we all eat more healthier home cooked food.

So I got up this morning and realised I had a few hours to spare this afternoon and thought I would spend it wisely and batch cook bolognaise. Meaning we could have spag bol tonight, lasagne on Thursday and a lasagne in the freezer next week.

Ok now all started off well and to be fair I was feeling pretty damn pleased with myself, while prepping all the ingredient’s I even managed to get Joshua fed!! . Once he went for his afternoon nap I got cracking and I have to say I was feeling really confident.

So as you can imagine I was so blowing my own trumpet when my hubby came home that tea was almost done and Thursday night’s tea was in the fridge and a tea for next week was in the freezer.

This is when disaster struck we sat down to eat the spag bol when I glanced down and saw a kidney bean???

Normally I use just cans of  tomatoes, garlic, onions and seasoning, however I thought I would pad the veg out and add courgettes and a couple of peppers finely chopped (or tomorrow I would have to bin them) so this is why I was concerned over the kidney bean?? (We all HATE them) Then it finally dawned on me that as I had run out of cans of tomatoes so I had used a couple of jars of bolognaise sauce, or were they? ….. Nope they were indeed chilli con carne!

I do have to say that it was rather nice just not what I had expected, however I am more concerned about the lasagne we are supposed to be eating on Thursday!! It is obviously now a chilli lasagne and an overcooked one at that!!

I think I may be better served doing what I do best in the kitchen, sneaking a crafty fag out the back door and turning the tumble drier on!

Does Jamie Oliver make these kinds of cock ups? …. It seems I do!

12 responses to “Culinary Cock Up … who me?

  1. All About Flanj says:

    OMG that is so the sort of thing I do. I once made a fish pie and Mr Flanj still refers to it as Fish Dumpling – erghgh you can imagine…

  2. Love this post! As an alternative to batch cooking, have you thought about using a slow cooker? For most recipes you just put all the ingredients in the pot, switch it on and leave it! It’s ideal if you don’t enjoy cooking and great for the cold winter days. X

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I would worship a slow cooker, however the hubby detests the idea and has the phobia about anything cooked in a slow cooker!! he is such a funny bugger lol

  3. I love kidney beans, any beans! I’ll be over for tea tomorrow 🙂 I’m sure the pukka JO made a few what you said in his time 🙂

  4. Mrs Fox says:

    I did the batch cooking thing on Sunday (tuna pasta bake and sausage casserole) and was also glorying in my brilliance. But on Monday, when I put the oven on too high and forgot to put a timer on, my tuna pasta back ended up looking a little like yours above. In fact mine was much more burnt. Thai takeaway tonight I reckon!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      i am so glad its not just me, maybe next time i wont be so cocky with the hubby that i am super human! lol

      i think it might be takeaway for us on thursday instead of the burnt offering in the picture lol

  5. t1gerinspace says:

    We famously have many culinary cockups. So far this month I have deposited an entire grinder’s worth of peppercorns into a risotto, taken the fingerprints off one hand due to a worn out oven glove and properly over spiced some Singapore noodles resulting in my Dad sweating copiously through dinner. Oops. Rest assured that while you might not be Jamie Oliver you are definitely beating me… ;-))

  6. Mummy Plum says:

    At least it still tasted nice – perhaps you’ll all become kidney bean converts now? I remember making a chilli once and putting too much chilli sauce in. It was practically inedible. We had to go the garage and buy a bumper pot of natural yoghurt to cool down our mouths in between each spoonful. I think batch cooking is definitely the way forward. I just wish my freezer was bigger.

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

