The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

A Zumba..ing Hockey Good Time 

on 18/10/2012

As some of you know from my recent posts, I am suffering with extra poundage from baby weight and yo yo dieting in previous years. This January I weighed in at a disgraceful 18 stone and with on-going problems with Symphysis Pubic Dysfunction that I had in my 2nd pregnancy I really really needed to shift some flab!

After uncontrollable sobbing in the middle of Boots while stood next to the scales I vowed to make changes I would stick too …

First change portion sizes, out went the serving platters we called dinner plates and in came a basic set of white smaller dinner plate…. Ok so that was easy!

Next was out with the takeaways 3 times a week and in with the healthier home cooking. Now I am not talking ‘Jamie Oliver’ standard this Jaime Oliver is not the best cook (I am still learning) but I don’t burn beans and if I can chuck it in a casserole dish and fill with veg, then there was hope for me! The whole family have tagged along for the ride!  I am not making 4 different meals every time as let’s face it there aren’t enough hours in the day anyway!

Next was the dreaded physical activity!

Now to say my confidence was at rock bottom would be an understatement! So I broke myself in gently and used my walks with my little man to start getting this fat ass off the sofa and out the door …step one complete … so one with step 2 … this is where it got harder I hate going to the gym so started doing Aqua Aerobics instead, although my motivation dwindled and I dropped out after a weeks or so …

After a few weeks of feeling very sorry for myself and eating my body weight in Greggs sausage rolls, Imagechocolate and blaming the SPD  for doing nothing, I got up from the sofa and started a Zumba class.. For those of you have haven’t been ………WOW ……. Now don’t get me wrong for the first few classes I went left and the rest of the class went right! (You certainly need to be able to giggle at yourself!)

I even increased to 2 sessions a week!! (Check me out!) But even after the first 6 pack of flab was gone my weight loss began to dwindle and I knew I had to up the ante to get it shifting again!

Now all the way through school I was obsessed with hockey and played every day and weekends for years, I played for local teams, county and my school, this was until I met boys, fags and hangovers in my late teens!

I have always dreamt of returning so now with a few stone off was it time to go back?? For a weeks I was going to go and find a team but my confidence was faltering but all it took was not getting that dreaded outfit on (you know the one I mean, the one in the wardrobe you love but it doesn’t fit but even so you just can’t face getting rid! ) … so confidence renewed and determination by the bucketful I got in touch with a local team and headed to training!

Now let me tell you I was in total confidence melt down at the first training session, the first task warm up’s! Now as you know I am built more for comfort not speed so the warm up jog almost killed me! 2 laps round the pitch (You what??????) I made the first half a lap and wasn’t quite sure if I was going to pass out or puke! (It’s at these times in my life I vow to stop smoking!) I tried to run and play with the rest of the team but my lack for physical exercise and stamina over the last 15 years really shined through!

After the first training session I can honestly say I was a useless mummy for the next 4 days!, I hurt in so many places I genuinely thought I had died and gone to hell (although I probably would of welcomed it at that stage!) surely nothing that is supposed to be good for you hurts this much!

I am pleased to say I am now 7 weeks into training and I am no longer in agony for 4 days, I am now playing matches on Saturday’s as well as training on Wednesday’s  and doing Zumba on Mondays and the weight is starting to shift again. I am really loving being part of a team and my confidence is now improving. I year ago I would of called you a liar if you had told me I would be doing all this!!

I have not yet reached my target weight loss although I am taking it a day at a time with no extra pressures, I have lost nearly 3 stones since January and I would like to lose another 3 before I go on holiday next June, I may not have a bikini body by then but hell I will certainly have one I can feel proud of!

35 responses to “A Zumba..ing Hockey Good Time 

  1. Michele says:

    Keep up the good work!! And work on that self confidence–you CAN do anything you put your mind to!

  2. pinkoddy says:

    Wow amazing. I was just talked into being lazy today too. I’m hurting just walking the school run now my car has conked out on me – so this post really puts me to shame. I love how much confidence all this determination is giving you too – sounds really empowering. Well done.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      thanks, dont get me wrong though it absolutely kills me but i need to get this flab off to take the pressure from hips. I am back on it this week after a lazy one myself 🙂 coz lets face it everyone needs it now and again x

      • pinkoddy says:

        Did you get sunshine? It helped me today and I walked on the last leg of the school run instead of taking the car.

        Thanks for joining in with Motivational Monday again :O)

      • Jaime Oliver says:

        my pleasure joining again today, i am a little behind the visiting but i will get on it tomorrow, I didn’t get out today but plan to tomorrow 🙂

  3. […] Day 7 Saturday 12th January  – My first hockey match after Christmas and I scored my first goal after returning to play from 18 years of not playing! (you can read about my return to hockey HERE) […]

  4. mumstodolist says:

    Omg….that is amazing. I put on a lot of weight with baby 2, closely followed by baby 3 and although i shifted nearly a stone after xmas, i put it all back on again and stress has made me fail to find motivation. I desperately want to lose 2 stone! Well done you x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      bless you i know how that feels honey, finding the time can also be stressful. With me once i found the nights that were right for us (that fitted round everything else) really helped! I have really struggled with confidence and even now i have classes or training where i feel so self conscious i feel sick.

      Keep your chin up, I am sure that you will manage to loose some soon and you never know when that pesky motivation may return!! xx

  5. Jesus girl 3 stone since January is amazing, you should be proud of yourself. It’s easy to get into a rut post babies as well I know, and hard to get out of it. I will follow your progress with interest, and look forward to seeing what a skinny minny you look in June!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks honey, its always easier to loose the first bit! plus Christmas maybe challenging 😉 No doubt things wont go to plan but i will keep trying with a smile on my face 🙂 xx

  6. I’ve been wanting to try Zumba for a while now but I have two left feet – I’d probably go tumbling over and take most of the class with me!! I’ve recently joined my local Slimming World in a bid to lose my baby weight, two weeks on – half a stone down! Nothing quite so impressive as yours though, well done you! Totally awesome =D x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Any thing that makes you feel good is great, the numbers dont count really, although half a stone is very good!

      I am not the best at directional choices and trust me the class goes left and more often than not i go right!!

      Pop back any time and let me know how your getting on 🙂

  7. wow, that is an amazing weight loss, well done! I have always been thin but the pounds have crept on over the years but am still 9.5 stones but losing a stone would make me happier! I hate Zumba though, have the whole set plus the shaker thingy’s, but prefer to use my treadmill or swim, reading your post must get more exercise! A friend of mine does a kettleball class each week and she is losing weight fast!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks for your kind comments, I dont think i would like to do Zumba at home i think i would get bored or make excuses not to do it lol

      I have a friend that does one of those classes and she is doing really well too … i might have to have ago 🙂 xx

  8. Lesa Clarke says:

    Jaime, you are doing amazingly well. Be proud of yourself, not just for the weight loss but for finding the will to try things. Reading your post is inspirational and might just kick me into gear.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Bless you, over the years i have been really quite non committal but this time feels so much different so hopefully i have turned the corner!

      Thank you for you kind comments they do mean a lot xx

  9. All About Flanj says:

    Great post Jaime! Keep up the fantastic work. Don’t focus too much on numbers but how you feel. I started exercising recently but scales stay the same but clothes feel looser, do you find that?

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I have done when i stopped loosing for a while i still ‘felt’ slimmer! although next week on holiday there will be fish and chips consumed 😉 xx

  10. Siobhan says:

    That’s fantastic, Jaime, well done you! I had SPD too after both of mine, so I know how you feel. The thing that saved me was a good physio and going to pilates classes run by a physio. I’ve been going for 6 yrs now (since my last was born) and its essential to keeping those muscles strengthened around the pelvis that were wrecked around pregnancy etc. I’ve always wanted to try Zumba as it sounds so much fun but was concerned about the effect it might have on my pelvis – this makes me re think and maybe have a go! Thanks J.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      I was massively worried about the SPD pain, but kind of thought i am in pain everyday anyway! I take prescribed painkillers for it and make sure that i take them before going to zumba or hockey, my Zumba instructor is great and on some of the moves i don’t do it as high or wide as everyone else and there are a couple of the tracks i know if i attempted it it would be too much so i take that few mins out to go and get a drink.

      Not sure if your physio offered a medical support? i had the standard pregnancy support but as i wanted to exercise to lose weight after i now have a black elasticated support belt i wear while doing any sport/exercise that fits waist to bum and it helps hold me all together 🙂

      If your thinking of doing Zumba i would speak to your local instructor and i am sure they will be able to help 🙂

  11. suzanne says:

    Wow, wow and wow! What an amazing weight loss and encouragement to everyone else. I love Zumba and am sure you will now get others to give it a go….
    Saw your message on Britmums and this made me read your post – well done you, I’m so pleased for you and your blog 🙂 x

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Suzanne, I am not normally into the newest craze but by god i am so glad i gave it a go, the gang at the classes are great too and really supportive xx

      No doubt there will be more Zumba madness in future posts too 🙂

  12. victoria welton says:

    Well done lovely lady, you’ve done brilliantly. One of the hardest things to maintain is the willpower but you sound like you have it in bucket loads xx

  13. Wow congratulations! Keep up the good work hun I’ll eat the choc for you 😉 its nice to hear the girls are supportive too, I’m far too shy to join any kind of group because I never feel I fit in but it sounds like you found the perfect groups for you, well done for being so brave and joining them! Xx

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Lol you cant eat all my chocolate i have to have some every now and again so i dont feel too deprived! lol (although once in a while is far better than everyday! lol)

      I am really anxious meeting new people and i felt sick to my stomach about joining but i knew i had to do it! x

  14. Ellie says:

    Unbelievable that you’ve lost so much since January, congrats! I lost 19lbs between Jan and May this year, and i feel sooo much better, can even jump in the air with two legs off the ground! Did it by giving up wheat and eating nothing after 6.30pm…Next 19lbs will come off between next jan and may! Need the January incentive to continue…..Ellie x

  15. Kris Gregory says:

    Brilliant article Jaime and an inspiration to everyone embracing a healthier lifestyle 🙂 I probably wouldn’t be wrong in saying the worst part is getting started but when you start to see and feel the benefits there’s usually no turning back 🙂 You’ve done brilliantly is such a short period of time and should be so proud of yourself!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Kris, i think it’s helped to find something i enjoy and the support i have received from that!.

      The Zumba gang and the Hockey girls are all so supportive its more fun than exercise for me now 🙂 x

  16. You’ve done fantastically, you must be so proud! Keep at it, it’s hard when you hit a wall and the weight stops coming off but just have a review and keep pushing. Shall be routing for you gir!!!! I’ve been thinking about giving Zumba a try but too frightened to go lol

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Bernadette, i am not normally a fan of the classes or ‘in thing’ however i have to say it could become quite addictive, although with being out and about doing hockey and Zumba i am trying to keep the balance of me and my family 🙂

  17. What an inspiring post, I’m sure at this rate you will reach your goal. Well done! I am truly tempted to try zumba myself.

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Thanks Anne, the class i go to really is fun (i was shocked as most classes are just plain hard work!)

      Let me know if you make the leap and have a go at Zumba 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

