The Oliver's Madhouse

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Batch Cooking … is it the way forward?

on 09/10/2012

Batch Cooking ... is it the way forward?

Now this is the great debate! throughout my 2nd pregnancy many people advised on the greatness that is batch cooking, however call me lazy or just bone idle i never attempted this until last week ……… i have now find my niche in cooking (i hate cooking) cook on mass for a few days with different meals then no cooking for most of the following week!!

….. and the extra bonus is lots and lots of lovely home cooked healthy meals for Joshua and plenty more spare time as it doesn’t take as much time as you think! 🙂

11 responses to “Batch Cooking … is it the way forward?

  1. […] January – I cooked home made cream of  tomato and basil soup … batch cooking really is the way […]

  2. […] discussed in an earlier post ‘Batch Cooking … is it the way forward? I have taken on the task of batch cooking, in order to cut down on the amount of time I HAVE to […]

  3. When i saw this picture i actually laughed out loud! I love batch cooking, but I’ve never cooked on that sort of scale before. That is brilliant! Batch cooking is ace!

    • Jaime Oliver says:

      Lol, i never do things by halves! this is the first attempt at batch cooking, so maybe the next lot will get bigger! in fact we are off to wilko tomorrow to look at getting some more dishes as my hubby is attempting to batch cook his lush homemade curry this weekend so double bonus as not only is he cooking but he is also doing several meals!

  4. Jaime Oliver says:

    Lesa, I would love to have a slow cooker however my hubby has this aversion to it and the mere mention of a slow cooker and he starts to hyperventilate! Up until this point i have used casserole dishes and slowed cooked in them in the oven (although i wouldn’t tell him!)

    It really is easier to batch cook than cooking once or twice !! and we now have a freezer full of chilli hotpots, Sheppard pies and saucy sausage pasta!

  5. Lesa Clarke says:

    I haven’t tried batch cooking but might have to venture into it. The slow cooker is my current addiction. So easy to prepare the meal once the kids have gone to school.

    By the way I tagged you in the meme:
    http://lesaclarke.blogspot.co.uk/2012/10/my-first-meme.html

  6. MsXpat says:

    This is certainly a great idea. I keep planning to do this but never do. Cooking one meal is an achievement for me with my lil cheeky monkey at my ankles, lol. Looks so yummy and your’e not even done yet!

  7. I try and batch cook as often as I can. Last week I did a lasagne that lasted us 3 meals! My OH and daughter were so pleased (especially as they wanted more and I wouldn’t let them so it would last!) 🙂

  8. lesley says:

    nice to hear young mums still do make ‘real’ meals for their families, keep up the good work xx

  9. Shahnaz says:

    I love to batch cook also…mainly for two to three days ahead…it helps me stay in control of meal times as its always so hectic… After I finish work I collect boys straight from school so the last thing I want to do is stand cooking a meal from scratch xxx

Leave a Reply

Faded Seaside Mama

When Life Isn't Complicated Enough

Family Days Tried And Tested

Adventuring through childhood... with love and dysfunction in tow

notTHATJaimeOliver.com

It's this one instead

The Oliver's Madhouse

When life isn't complicated enough ..

My Travel Monkey

Adventures at Home and Abroad

Twice a mummy double the fun

A Parenting Lifestyle Blog

Alice & Amelia

new young mum sharing my stories......

Death Valley Cycle 2014

3 novice cyclists raising money for Great Ormond Street Children's Charity

The Adventures of a Potty Mouthed Mummy

Spouting sarcasm and swear words and being me.

Mummy Tries

...she really does

thepiepatch

Cooking, crochet and cloth pads!

motherslittlesteps.com/

Motherhood and Coastal Living

Old Road Apples

A Magnificent Fountain of Gurgling Wit, Wisdom, and Intriguing Insights. Some Other Stuff, Too.

Lovely2CU

A Work in Progress

Bark Time

I don’t want a perfect life; I want a happy one.

@adadcalledspen

Not a journalist or a writer, just a dad to two amazing children. Oh, and I love cheese.

